top of page

Why I studied Spanish language

When I was 7, my parents enrolled me into a freshly opened school # 148 in my district of St.-Petersburg, Russia, specialized in Spanish language. A speech impediment I had at the time helped me to produce sounds and letters of Spanish language phonetics with ease. Soon enough I became the best student of what is now Cervantes Gymnasium #148 (http://www.cervantes.ru/). I enjoyed every year of my studies and became passionate in learning. Practice Spanish every day made me fluent.

The best teachers of Cervantes Gymnasium inspired me.

Through my rigorous study of Spanish, I came to discover that the Spanish character shares much in common with my Russian character. A core tenet of my philosophy on teaching a foreign language is to first get the children to recognize what they share with a foreign people. Seeing what binds them to a different culture promotes a healthy respect for people and customs that differ from their own. I personally serve to illustrate how a non-native speaker can come to embrace and master a foreign language and culture.

Spanish language outranks English. Spanish is an official language on four continents and is the mother tongue in 21 countries.

Here are TOP TEN reasons to learn Spanish:

  1. Learning Spanish is necessary to keep pace with popular culture.

  2. Learning Spanish is actually a medical device!

  3. For many, learning Spanish is rapidly becoming a business necessity.

  4. Spanish, Spanish everywhere.

  5. Learning Spanish will (truly) expand your universe.

  6. Knowing Spanish will completely transform your travel experience.

  7. Knowing how to speak Spanish will enable you to help others.

  8. There are reasons to learn language for language’s sake.

  9. Learning Spanish will allow you to better appreciate Hispanic cultural contributions.

  10. Learning Spanish is fun!

Teaching languages affords me lots of opportunities to do fun and creative activities for my classes. To avoid monotony, I use my imagination to come up with original dialogues with which the students can relate. I use a very animated teaching style and try to create anticipation in students to keep them engaged. I often use games and songs with younger children. With older students, I integrate more cultural components such as music, customs, art, sports, clothing, etc.

I hope to have a privilege to teach you Spanish soon.

Stay tuned for my next blogs.

Natasha from

http://natashaschool.com/

201-314-8695


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page